EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

RELATED SERVICES

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY (OT) AND PHYSICAL THERAPY (PT)

School-based occupational/physical therapists help students with developmental delays become academically, socially and physically successful in their school environment. This is done using therapeutic techniques, making environmental modifications, and with the use of assistive technology. Prior to an OT or PT evaluation or services, a written physician script must be secured. In addition, therapists work directly with teachers and parents in order to help students develop the necessary skills needed to maximize their independence focusing on helping students improve:

  • eye-hand coordination
  • fine and gross motor skills
  • self-care skills
  • motor planning abilities
  • perceptual skills
  • sensory processing skills
  • play skills

Occupational Therapists

dwilliams@tonacsd.org

Sarah Shepler (all other buildings)

sshepler@tonacsd.org

Riverview (homebase), 716-694-7697, ext. 1248
Fletcher, 716-694-7694, ext. 1616
Middle/High School 694-7660, ext. 2027

Physical Therapist

Susan Calandra

scalandra@tonacsd.org
Mullen (homebase), 716-694-6805, ext. 1719
Riverview, 716-694-7697, ext. 1248
Fletcher, 716-694-7694, ext. 1602
Middle/High School 694-7660, ext. 2004

SPEECH PATHOLOGY

The speech pathologists hold a valid New York State teaching certificate as a speech therapist. Responsibilities include identifying and evaluating students’ communication skills in articulation, language, voice, fluency and auditory. They promote literacy in the early grades through assessing and teaching phonological awareness skills, provide appropriate programs of therapy to meet individual student’s needs and improve speech and language disabilities, assess student progress regularly, providing progress reports and holding appropriate conferences, participates on school’s Instructional Support Team and collaborates with teachers and other professionals.


Speech Pathologist Stacy Tucker - Riverview, Fletcher

stucker@tonacsd.org

Speech Pathologist Patricia "Trish" Crean - Mullen

pcrean@tonacsd.org

Speech Pathologist Jessica Lamphier - Mullen, MS/HSj

lamphier@tonacsd.org

Speech Pathologist Jennifer Redanz - MS/HS
jredanz@tonacsd.org

716-694-7660, ext. 2201

PSYCHOLOGY

School psychologists must be certified through NYS. They conduct evaluations in a student's native language to study and describe a student's developmental, learning, behavioral and other personality characteristics.

School Psychologist Doug Peita
dpeita@tonacsd.org
MS/HS, 716-694-7660, ext. 2028

School Psychologist Mark Mucci
mmucci@tonacsd.org
Mullen, 716-694-6805, ext. 1744
Riverview, 716-694-7697, ext. 1250

Fletcher, 716-694-7694, ext. 1616

SOCIAL WORK

Social workers must be NYS certified. They provide psychological counseling to students with IEPs and improvement counseling to those without an IEP. Counseling is provided on an individual or group basis. If the child has an existing outside counselor, the social worker will seek parental consent to work with that person for carry over in treatment. Social workers also link families to outside services they need.

Social Worker Marie Burger - Mullen, Riverview

mburger@tonacsd.org
Mullen 716-694-6805, ext. 1745
Riverview 716-694-7697, ext. 1235

Social Worker Joelle Labert - HS

jlabert@tonacsd.org
HS 716-694-7660, ext. 2013

Social Worker Megan Hamm - Fletcher, MS

mhamm@tonacsd.org

Fletcher 716-694-7694 ext. 1509

MS 716-694-7660 ext. 2026

Social Worker Mary Rose Wittman - Fletcher (4th), Riverview

mwittman@tonacsd.org

Riverview 716-694-7697 ext. 1235

Fletcher 716-694-7694 ext. 1509

Mental Health Resources

HEARING

The Hearing & Cochlear Implant Program provides a variety of services to students with hearing loss. Programming in this department is highly individualized. This department provides academic support, auditory training, speechreading training, amplification equipment, evaluations, consultations, and staff training at the building level. Students who receive services from this department must have a current audiogram on file by a licensed audiologist or physician referral.


Teacher for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing / Special Education Teacher Renee Cool

rcool@tonacsd.org

716-694-7660, ext. 2122