Remind Notifications

  • Remind - A Safe Way to Text Parents & Students


     
    Remind logo The Middle/High School Guidance Department uses Remind to send out reminder texts to parents and students about field trip sign-ups, parent teacher conferences, Summer School sign-ups, SAT and PSAT sign-ups, important events, graduation and other important information.
     
    Parents and students must sign up annually to receive information through Remind. Remind is a one-way broadcast system to push out notifications. The school counselors cannot send individual messages to parents or students, and parents/students cannot reply through Remind. The system is set up so the counselors never see parents’ or students’ phone numbers.

    The Guidance Department has set up seven classes (listed below). For each class, a parent/student would have to text a certain code to a designated phone number in order to join that group. At the high school level, events are typically grade specific, so each class is separated into an individual group. If a parent has a child in both 9th and 11th grade, they would have to subscribe to both groups. Parents can opt out at any time; they'll get a text message telling them how.

     

    To join a specific group, text the following code(s) to this number: 81010.

     

    For more information, read the letter to parents.


More Info About Remind

  • What Is It?
     
    Remind provides a safe way for teachers to text message students and stay in touch with parents for free. The Guidance Department will use remind.com, the Android app or the iOS app to send texts to students’ and parents’ phones without ever having to share their own phone number. Students and parents also never have to share their phone number with teachers.
     
    What Makes it Safe?
     
    Teachers never see their students’ phone numbers. Students never see theirs. Remind is a one-way broadcast system. Teachers cannot send individual messages to students or parents, and students/parents cannot reply. Remind also keeps a log of all message history, which can never be edited or deleted.